Soups, Starters

My mums Curried Soup with sundried tomato oil

My mums soups have somewhat of a cult following amongst my family and friends (eventually leading to me conjuring up her alter ego – Brenda Broth).

Both her and her sister are fantastic cooks and have been cooking simply delicious meals for family and friends for a quite a number of years!

The following recipe is one of my mums most recent and is absolutely delicious! It’s an absolute blue print for a curried soup!

Garnish with some parsnip crisps for an added crunch!

I’ll be attempting this myself in the coming week, so pics to follow!!!

A little oil for Cooking
1 small onion chopped finely (food processor will do this)
l small leek chopped finely ”
2 Tablespoons Medium Curry Powder( to taste or hotter if you like!!)
2 – 3 Fairly good sized potatoes chopped
1 Litre Vegetable Stock ( I use Marigold Stock Powder – it’s in a green tub)
1 Tablespoon Creme Fraiche or cream if preferred
Seasoning

A little Sundried Tomato Paste mixed with some olive oil for garnish

Put oil in pan and heat then add onion and leek and cook gently for a few minutes until soft then add curry powder, stir around for a few minutes until vegetables are coated.

Add potatoes and stir around for a minute or two until well coated then add vegetable stock and some seasoning to taste.

Cook until potatoes are vegetables are soft. Cool then puree soup and stir through creme fraiche.

When serving soup top with a little of the tomato and oil mixture.

ENJOY!!!

Standard

One thought on “My mums Curried Soup with sundried tomato oil

Leave a comment